CPN | The Courageous Provider Award: Nominations are Closed

The Courageous Provider Award: Nominations are Closed

CPN_Provider-Award-Nomination-Form (2)

The Ilene Beal Courageous Provider Award and the Margaret S. Lindsay Courageous Provider Award annually recognize clinicians providing exceptional family-centered care in circumstances of serious childhood illness. Nominees must demonstrate excellence in engaging with patients, parents or other caregivers, and/or other pediatric specialists in a holistic, multidisciplinary approach to care. They must demonstrate qualities of compassion, tenacity and empathy in journeying with children and their families. Award recipients may be physicians, nurses, advanced practice providers, social workers, therapists or others.

Courageous Parents Network is grateful to the Ilene Beal Foundation and the Margaret Stewart Lindsay Foundation, whose generosity makes it possible to honor and celebrate these leaders, and to the providers, patients and families that nominate them.

2024 Nominations are Now Closed

All nominations will be reviewed by a committee appointed by the Courageous Parents Network Executive Director. Members will include representatives of the Ilene Beal and Margaret Stewart Lindsay Foundations and a Courageous Parents Network team member.

All nominations will be kept confidential.

The final determination will be made in late Fall 2023. Courageous Parents Network will work with the nominator to determine how to notify the Award recipient. The results will be announced publicly in December 2023 and the Award ceremony held in 2024.

Ilene Beal achieved great success and had a major impact in the Boston banking world. She was a dedicated and meticulous banker with a big heart, who did everything she could to help, mentor, and encourage other women to follow their dreams and passions. She often said that women can and should do whatever they want professionally. She died in 2015 after a valiant battle against cancer.

The Ilene Beal Charitable Foundation’s goal is to maintain her legacy by supporting those fighting health issues, increasing the ability of hospitals to provide high quality care, mentoring and assistance for women and disadvantaged people in underrepresented fields, and lending support to innovative people striving to improve our community.

Margaret Stewart Lindsay, a native Midwesterner, used her experience of personal tragedy to live a life of great compassion for those who suffer adversity. She was a longtime resident of Massachusetts and, from her homes in Beacon Hill and on Martha’s Vineyard, found countless ways to help both friends and strangers in need. She died suddenly, in 1999.

The Margaret Stewart Lindsay Foundation of 1989 continues her legacy by supporting organizations focused on a wide range of social and environmental causes, especially providing relief to those who suffer from disabilities or disadvantage, families and children suffering from serious illness, and organizations providing legal assistance to those who lack financial resources.



Ilene Beal Courageous Provider Award

Frances T. McCarthy, MS, RNC-NIC, Columbia University Irving Medical Center/ New York-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital, New York, NY

Kenneth Pituch, MD, Michigan Partners for Children | C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI

Margaret Stewart Lindsay Courageous Provider Award

Marjorie Curran, MD, MassGeneral Hospital for Children, Boston, MA

Daniel Le, Therapeutic Musician, Coastal Kids Home Care, Salinas, CA


Ilene Beal Courageous Provider Award

Erin Flanagan, MD, Advocate Children’s Hospital, Park Ridge, IL

Sara Perszyk, RN, BSN, CHPN, Empath Children’s Health, Clearwater, FL

Margaret Stewart Lindsay Courageous Provider Award

Anne Anderson, RN, CHPPN, Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, WA

David Sine, MD, Hinds Hospice, Hoffman Hospice, Kaweah Delta Hospice, CA


Ilene Beal Courageous Provider Award

Hanna Epstein, DNP, CPNP, Shawn Jenkins Children’s Hospital, Charleston, SC

Carly D. Levy, MD, Nemours/AI duPont Hospital for Children, Wilmington, DE

Margaret Stewart Lindsay Courageous Provider Award

Monica Holland, PNP-BC, MSN, CHPPN, Doernbecher Children’s Hospital, Portland, OR


Ilene Beal Courageous Provider Award

Kim Juanico, RN, BSN, CHPPN, Holtz Children’s Hospital, Miami, FL


Patricia J.(Pat) O’Malley, MD, MassGeneral Hospital for Children